Google has announced an update to its Location History feature to promote user privacy. Although the feature is off by default, users who choose to activate it and visit specific locations deemed particularly private will have those entries automatically deleted shortly after they leave. These locations include medical facilities, addiction treatment facilities, and domestic violence shelters, among others. Accuracy is determined by various factors such as whether a user is inside a building or in a densely populated area. Users can still manually add or confirm visits to personal locations, although an upcoming update will remove this feature. Google encourages users to delete all or part of their location data or set up auto-delete controls.

TagsNone
Comments

There are no comments yet.

Leave a comment